Rest, don’t stop

Knowing you need to find yourself is a strength

Rachel Williams
2 min readMar 8, 2022
Photo by Christian Holzinger on Unsplash

I haven’t written in ages. Proper writing, that is. Because of financial difficulties, I concentrated on trying to get a job where I could earn money, and that would get me out of financial burdens.

And I started to die. Just a little, day by day.

At first, you don’t realize. You start paying off bills (slowly, so slowly) and invariably your mind goes off to another level as that is being taken care of.

You realize you haven’t laughed, not properly, or not as much as you used to.

I’m not one to jump out of bed singing in dulcet tones that brings the birds out of the trees, but I’m good at getting up and getting on with it.

Not so much anymore.

And then something happens. It’s like coming out of a coma. You read other people’s articles and think ‘I used to do that.’ Or see someone laughing and hugging and think ‘I used to do that,’ too.

Too much news? Too much about Covid and the New War? Working 70 hours a week to pay someone else because you trusted the wrong person? All of the above?

Yes. And no. The beautiful thing about life is there is always, at some point, something to remind you who you really are.

If you’ve lost sight of that, don’t despair.

She comes back. I promise.

--

--

Rachel Williams

Human being. Often confused. Persistent. I’ve got this. So have you. Contact me on williamsrachelscript@gmail.com